Happy Valentine’s Day!

It’s February 14th, the day each year to celebrate love! Thematically in musical theatre, love is at the center of so many shows, both classic and contemporary. Romantic love, of course, but you may also notice love for children (South Pacific), for life (Fiddler on the Roof), for yourself (Matilda), and how love can change over time (The Last 5 Years).

I’ve decided to share with you a video from the NYC premiere of my solo cabaret, Broadway Lights, Manhattan Nights. It is a song from the musical Ordinary Days, that is both heart wrenching and optimistic. The show itself takes place in NYC and reminds me of my journey in the Big Apple. My love for the city that captured my heart when I was a little girl with big dreams and my love for my spouse, my partner, and my best friend are all in this song.

Music is powerful and love is powerful so it’s no wonder that musicals explore love in so many different ways. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

