She Loves Me On Broadway and In My Living Room?!?!

13521857_1024304054312864_5784175967038987441_nOn June 30, 2016, BroadwayHD provided the first ever live stream of a Broadway show: the current revival of She Loves Me (which just closed last weekend). BroadwayHD continued to offer this live recording as an On-Demand Encore through July 10th. I was finally able to rent and watch this last Friday evening, July 8th. I quite simply enjoyed my evening in with this gorgeous production!

Though I have known the songs from this show for years and years, I have never seen a production of She Loves Me. I own both the original  1963 recording and the 1993 Roundabout Theatre Company revival recording. I also have the vocal selections and have sung several of the songs in this show including A Trip To The Library, which I performed at my senior voice recital in college! I’ve assigned both the lyrical and character pieces to my female and male students. There’s lots of vocal technique to be learned from these classic musical theatre songs (breath, legato line, and phrasing to name a few)!

BroadwayHD is in one word: phenomenal! I love that I could catch this limited run in my living room (while my children were sleeping upstairs) even though I wasn’t able to make it to New York City. The owners of BroadwayHD blatantly state that this is by no means a replacement for live theatre. I wholeheartedly believe that! I also think that by providing a way for people across the globe to watch live Broadway performances, we are sharing theatre with those that don’t have access to NYC and these high quality performances on Broadway.

I know there are men and women of all ages (including my young students) out there just like me that listen to this music, watch this show, and it takes them to another world. It inspires their creativity, encourages them to pursue their passions, and makes their heart happy. We need more of this everyday and I’m hopeful that BroadwayHD will continue to spread the joy of live theatre throughout the world!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

